top of page
Brutalisme 17 copie.jpg

Jean-François Naturel
 Photographer Author 
About - Art photography
 

Jean-François Naturel is a freelance professional photographer who mainly works on one-off missions with local authorities and businesses in the Greater Paris Metropolis, for whom he carries out photo reports, particularly in the field of town planning and architecture. . This profession of professional photographer is also a passion which naturally led him towards the status of artist-author to offer visitors to his brand new site, which he built alone, much more personal work which reflects all his commitment to photographic art. Because for Jean-François Naturel, photography is an art in its own right that goes well beyond a simple hobby or a livelihood like any other.

His conception of artistic photography

For Jean-François Naturel, a photographer-author must not remain compartmentalized within a photographic genre and for him photography must remain a passion before being a profession, even if photography is his profession.

He prefers to photograph the deserted city, early in the morning, with the feeling that it belongs to him more. He often wanders, dear to the great photographer Raymond Depardon, one of the major influences claimed by Jean-François Naturel.

When he discovers a subject, he works on it from all angles, focusing on shapes and patterns, perspective, shadow and light. He likes bright colors and marked contrasts. But what makes his work as a photographer unique is that he is interested in subjects that others most often neglect. Furthermore, in his mind, post-production is an essential part of creativity and it is not the image formatting tool that many denounce for lack of knowing how to use it artistically. Ideas and creativity are on the side of the photographer, not the machine. The computer is only the extension of a creative act which is prepared well before having photographed and having pressed the button on the box.

A sidewalk, a decrepit wall, old construction equipment, a street corner are all fascinating subjects for those who know how to see them. According to Jean-François Naturel, the photographer's eye is best exercised here. For an art photographer, there is nothing more gratifying to discover, once in front of the computer, that he will be able to work on a few nuggets at the end of a long photo outing, which for him is akin to a real treasure hunt(s).

For Jean-François Naturel, there is no such thing as a small subject in photography, even and especially when one aims to do art photography. For the photographer, the art of photography is of course the mastery of composition and the work on light and shapes, but above all it is communicating through images and transmitting an emotion, a little piece of the world that surrounds us.

About artificial intelligence in photography

From now on, the professional photographer, if he wants to maintain this status, must deal with the evolution of digital technology and in particular with the emergence of artificial intelligence in the field of photography. If the arrival of digital technology has been a real revolution for photographers like me who come from film, the possibilities offered by AI are like an earthquake. I am one of those who think that you should not fear the tool but use it in a reasoned and creative way, as an artist photographer, and tell those who follow you what you have manipulated, in what proportion and for what purpose. .

Contact Jean-François Naturel

Do not hesitate to contact me for any additional information you may need. We can even talk photography if you want, I don't know of a more interesting subject.

06 10 87 25 51

bottom of page

top of page
Brutalisme 17 copie.jpg

Jean-François Naturel
 Photographe Auteur 
À propos - Photographie d'art
 

Jean-François Naturel est un photographe professionnel freelance qui travaille essentiellement en mission ponctuelle auprès des collectivités territoriales et des entreprises de la Métropole du Grand Paris, pour lesquelles il effectue des reportages photo, notamment dans le domaine de l'urbanisme et de l'architecture. Ce métier de photographe professionnel, c'est aussi une passion qui l'a conduit naturellement vers le statut d'artiste-auteur pour proposer aux visiteurs de son tout nouveau site, qu'il a construit seul, un travail beaucoup plus personnel et qui traduit tout son engagement pour l'art photographique. Car pour Jean-François Naturel, la photographie est un art à part entière qui va bien au-delà du simple hobby ou d'un gagne-pain comme un autre.

Sa conception de la photo artistique

Pour Jean-François Naturel, un photographe-auteur ne doit pas rester cloisonné dans un genre photographique et pour lui la photographie doit rester une passion avant d'être un métier, même si la photographie est son métier.

Il photographie de préférence la ville déserte, tôt le matin, avec le sentiment qu'elle lui appartient davantage. Il pratique souvent l'errance chère au grand photographe Raymond Depardon, l'une des influences majeures revendiquées par Jean-François Naturel.

Lorsqu'il débusque un sujet, il le travaille sous tous les angles, en se concentrant sur les formes et les motifs, la perspective, l'ombre et la lumière. Il aime les couleurs vives et les contrastes marqués. Mais ce qui rend son travail de photographe unique, c'est qu'il s’intéresse à des sujets que d’autres délaissent le plus souvent. De plus dans son esprit, la post-production est une part essentielle de la créativité et elle n'est pas l'outil de formatage des images que beaucoup dénoncent faute de savoir l'utiliser de façon artistique. Les idées et la créativité sont du côté du photographe, pas de la machine. L'ordinateur n'est que le prolongement d'un acte créateur qui se prépare bien avant d'avoir photographié et d'avoir appuyé sur le bouton du boîtier.

Un trottoir, un mur décrépi, de vieux engins de chantier, un angle de rue sont autant de sujets fascinants pour qui sait les voir. Selon Jean-François Naturel, l'œil du photographe, c'est ici qu'il s'exercera le mieux. Pour un photographe d'art, il n'est rien de plus gratifiant de découvrir, une fois devant l'ordinateur qu'il va pouvoir travailler quelques pépites à l'issue d'une longue sortie photo, qui pour lui s'apparente à une vraie chasse au(x) trésor(s).

Pour Jean-François Naturel, il n'y a pas de petit sujet en photographie, même et surtout quand on ambitionne de faire de la photographie d'art. Pour le photographe, l'art en photographie c'est bien sûr la maîtrise de la composition et le travail sur la lumière et les formes, mais c'est surtout communiquer par l'image et transmettre une émotion, un petit bout du monde qui nous entoure.

À propos de l'intelligence artificielle en photographie

Désormais le photographe professionnel s'il veut conserver ce statut, se doit de composer avec l'évolution de la technologie numérique et en particulier avec l'irruption de l'intelligence artificielle dans le domaine de la photographie. Si l'arrivée du numérique a été une véritable révolution pour les photographes qui comme moi viennent de l'argentique, les possibilités offertes par l'IA tiennent du séisme. Je suis de ceux qui pensent qu'il ne faut pas craindre l'outil mais l'utiliser de façon raisonnée et créative, en artiste photographe, et dire à ceux qui vous suivent ce que vous avez manipulé, dans quelle proportion et pour quoi faire.

Contacter Jean-François Naturel

N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour toutes les informations supplémentaires dont vous pourriez avoir besoin On pourra même parler photo si vous voulez, je ne connais pas de sujet plus intéressant.

06 10 87 25 51

bottom of page